Sidebar

23
Sun, Jul

A New Day Dawning

Historical Fiction
Typography

A New Day Dawning: Those scallywag days in post-war rural Tipperary
by Edward Forde Hickey

“Like the peeling of an onion, there lurks inside each one of us that small unshaped child, who supposedly perished and died years and years ago...”

A New Day Dawning is set in the unreal world of Rookery Rally, which portrays Tipperary countryside and a hillside community in the late 1940s. It follows a group of children through their formative years as their personal beliefs and personalities develop. Buy Book Here!

Alternating acts of good and evil are carried out by the children as they struggle to set their own moral compasses. They walk three miles to bring back a puppy for an old man left broken-hearted by the death of his dog; they accompany their parents on a hunt and share in the act of killing foxes and their cubs; they drown a tinker’s pup; they turn over a new leaf and promise to be good after a stern fire-and-brimstone sermon.

There’s stop-and-start progression within the children’s moral development as they try to prove themselves good and worthy people on their jaunty adolescent journey towards adulthood. Will the good outweigh the bad? Will optimism outweigh the cynicism of today’s world?

“A work of classical storytelling for a crossover children-adult readership in the vein of Mark Twain and Harper Lee... frequently enthralling.”
– Ben Evans, Senior Editor, Addison & Cole

Published: 28/05/2016
ISBN: 9781785891861
Format: Paperback


About the Author

I am a retired head teacher, having taught in Inner London schools for almost 40 years.
I studied Classics at London University and I took my M.A.(Curriculum Studies) at Goldsmith College, London.
I have been happily married for 43 years and we have 3 fine sons.
I spent my early years in Tipperary.
I have a small farm in The Silvermines Mountains (Tipperary) and I visit it frequently.

Review Here!